The Paul Bernardo courtroom

25Mar12

The continuing trial of Michael Rafferty for the 2009 rape and murder of eight-year old Tori Stafford of Woodstock, Ontario, is generating public interest the same way a similar, much publicized murder trial did 17 years ago – the  1995 trial of serial killer Paul Bernardo in connection with the kidnapping, torture, rape and murder of Ontario teenagers Leslie Mahaffy in 199 and Kristen French in 1992.

Tried separately was Bernardo’s wife and partner-in-crime Karla Homolka, whose sister Tammy was also sexually assaulted and murdered by the couple in 1990.

Working for the Toronto Star, I was tasked to produce a courtroom layout that would give Star readers a glimpse of the actual courtroom –  and where and how the drama would play out. Although access to information was tightly restricted, I managed to get inside Courtroom 6-1 at the University Ave. courthouse in Toronto a day before the trial and obtain facts about the seating arrangement for what would be arguably the biggest criminal trial in Canadian history.

For a detailed look at this graphic, click here to view a PDF.

Bernardo was eventually sentenced to life in prison with no chance for parole for 25 years. Now 46, he continues to serve his sentence at the 160-year old Kingston Penitentiary, Ontario’s home for its most notorious offenders.

Homolka managed to plea bargain for a lighter sentence. She was imprisoned 12 years for manslaughter and was released in 2005.

On the Stafford murder, Rafferty’s girlfriend Terry-Lynne McClintic, 21, had two years ago pleaded guilty to killing Stafford and has since been serving her life sentence. She is now a key witness in Rafferty’s trial.

……………………………………………………………………………

INFOGRAPHIC: SHOOTING AT IPPERWASH

……………………………………………………………………………

Graphic by Alfred Elicierto. Published in the Toronto Star on April 25, 1995.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………


Also in this blog:
Tragic end to a bombing raid
Treating gunshot wounds
Recalling the Nimrod air crash in Lake Ontario
What animals mean when they ‘talk’
Newfoundland’s cod fishery killed by overfishing

10 Responses to “The Paul Bernardo courtroom”

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.

  2. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all Web site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the Web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  3. Hello there. I found your blog using MSN. This is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more. Thanks for the post. I will certainly come back.

  4. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I need to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for the wonderful info.

  5. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? You make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, as well as the content!. Thanks for your article about the Paul Bernardo courtroom.

  6. I really like what you’ve done with the theme but I was asking myself if you are the one that created it or you just bought it and customized it?

  7. Superb blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of an online community where I can get responses from other experienced individuals who share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thank you!

  8. Rattling superb information can be found on this website.

  9. I do not mind sitting with my notebook and doing nothing but being surprised by how excellent and fantastic this Web site of yours is actually. There’s no other site that will keep me glued for some time other than yours. Please continue the good work!

  10. Very interesting information! Perfect – just what I was searching for!


Leave a Reply

