Chemo’s effects on the brain

11Feb10

Click here to view interactive graphic

The use of drugs to treat cancer brings with it possible risks to the brain’s ability to think, reason and remember. The drug might enter the brain and kill cells, cause damage to and repair of DNA, restrain the ability to secrete virus-fighting proteins, and lower hormone levels of patients.

The drug could breach the blood-brain barrier, important proteins could malfunction and cause neural disorders, chromosome integrity and stability could be undermined and lowered hormone levels could restrict the cognitive functions of the brain.

Graphic by Alfred Elicierto, published in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel on September 2, 2007.

INTERACTIVE: HOW HORMONES WORK

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Also in this blog
How the Penumbra System works
Treating gunshot wounds
Re-engineering a heart with left heart syndrome
The oil sands of Alberta
A biodiesel project
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

One Response to “Chemo’s effects on the brain”

  1. Hello, terrific site you’ve put together here. I really liked looking at your post. I accidentally found it this afternoon and thought it was interesting, so it led me to give a reply. I believe a lot of folks will probably have the same view in reference to this theme. So, I’ll return soon when I have spare moments to view more. This is kinda weird, but I was just calling my brother concerning this issue, so this info was timely. I’m jazzed I stumbled across this page, it has good energy. I will bookmark this blog and subscribe to the feed also. Thanks and see you later.


Leave a Reply

